Project Directors

Graduate Students

Undergrad Students

The staff on NPP is a crazy bunch. We are a growing and diverse family. Check out the links above to learn more about us!

Back to Project Staff

Graduate Studentsgold line

Mitchell Bartholomew (Project Coordinator)

I moved from Phoenix, Arizona in 2008 to pursue a graduate degree in HDFS at The Ohio State University. I received my undergraduate training in Psychology from Arizona State University where I studied social psychology as it applied to law.  Currently my research focuses on adult romantic attachment over the transition to parenthood.  My experience at OSU will prepare me for a degree in academia where I hope to mentor students in some capacity. In my spare time I enjoy playing golf and throwing a Frisbee, that is of course if Ohio’s weather permits.

Arielle Sheftall (Weldon)

I am from Springfield, Massachusetts. A doctoral student in the Human Development and Family Science Department. Want to be a professor when I grow up. My favorite color is blue and I love my family…my husband Marcus and two kittens Nittany and Cane (ones named after the Penn State Lions and the other the Florida Hurricanes).

Felisha Lotspeich

I am a graduate student in HDFS. I'm from Cincinnati, and I am the oldest of six kids so I have plenty of family experiences to keep me studying for a lifetime!  I have been married for a little over a year to my wonderful husband, Mike, and we have two dogs--Evie and Maxx. My research interests include work-family balance, division of labor, gender roles, etc., and I plan to become a family therapist. Oh, and I love NPP!

Dan Bower

DanI am originally from Akron, Ohio. I moved to Columbus in the fall of 2006. I got my Bachelor's and Master's degree in Human Development and Family Science at The Ohio State University, and am currently working on my PhD. I am interested in studying the role that personality and mental health have on romantic relationships.

Tricia McKean

Tricia McKeanI graduated from the University of Utah in 2008 with degrees in Psychology and English. joined the New Parents Project in the Fall of 2009 and discovered that the department of Human Development and Family Science is where I wanted to continue my education. I am currently applying to the program to begin my graduate education during the year 2010.

Eileen Donnally

Eileen I graduated in 2007 from The Ohio State University with a BS in human development and family science. I was then hired by Ohio State in 2007 to work full time as an Early Childhood Specialist. I began pursuing my Master’s degree in 2008 while continuing full time work for OSU. My current research is on the relationships between co-parenting and infant temperament.

Emily Passias

EmilyI am a Doctoral Candidate in the Sociology Department. I also received my Bachelor's in Sociology and Criminology, as well as my Master's degree in Sociology from Ohio State. I am a third generation Buckeye, and grew up in Dublin, Ohio. My research interests include gender inequality, single parent families, and time use patterns. I am also an affiliate of the Initiative in Population Research here at OSU. I manage the time diary portion of NPP, and spend my days thinking about how sociodemographic factors affect how people spend their time.